Still Standing

This afternoon I took a trip to another nearby nature reserve, this time at Moore, which sits to the north of the Ship Canal some way to the west of Warrington town centre. It is former sand, gravel and clay quarries which is now lakes, pools and extensive woodland. Another place I will be going back to with J. I heard woodpeckers drumming - an early sign of spring.

At one point I walked along the appropriately named Lapwing Lane to just beyond the woodland where I had a good view across to the redundant Fiddlers Ferry Power Station (those are clouds, not steam from the towers). Demolition of the cooling towers and other structures should be beginning this year (it was scheduled for 2020), this would be a good spot to watch the process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.