Winter purslane at Wisley

Today I went to RHS Wisley hoping it would be a nice sunny day and good for taking photos! But by about 10.30 the clouds had descended. 
I was extremely surprised it was so so busy there, the busiest I think I have ever seen it? On a cold weekday in winter ?  I got to used to the booking system in the various lockdowns and liked being able to do that as the numbers were then limited and it was not crowded…but not good for the RHS.
The new vegetable garden has lots growing,  unlike my allotment. The blip is winter purslane, a salad which can be grown in winter. Very neatly sown! The other vegetable I noticed that I have not even heard of before was black radish which I looked up when I got home as no seeds being sold in the shop there. These are also a winter variety and are large about 5cm in diameter. You can buy them online so maybe next year I will have a go.
There are also lots of broad beans growing well and all the beds look very neat and tidy.

A few daffodils and snowdrops are out but not as many as when I visited about the same time last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.