Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Well Hello!

I nearly fell over this morning when this spectacular creature appeared on the roof just outside the bedroom window.  I can honestly say I have never seen this particular bird at Wombat Hollow before.  I’m sure it’s a pigeon but I’m still trying to work out which one.  If you look closely at the large version you will see that it’s quite bronze in colour and I just love it.  It hovered around for quite a while and allowed me time to find the camera.  It was so curious and really gave us both the once over!!  I have added an extra of a shot I had taken of it when it flew into the gum tree.  If any of my blip buddies can help me out with its identity I will be very grateful.
Stop the Presses:  I have just found it on good old Google.  It’s the Amboyna Cuckoo Dove

It’s been a day in the veggie patch for me today and I’m really pleased with what I achieved.  I’ve planted a few new seedlings - mainly a variety lettuce, some celery, spinach. Parsley.   Still hoping to get some tomatoes by the end of the summer but I think I’ll be making the good old green tomato chutney this time round :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.