Milly

Steve and I had a meeting scheduled in Leeds for this morning, but his daughter has Covid, and consequently we decided that even though Steve is much closer to this client than me, I'd go over on my own.

Well, I got off to a bad start. While I did switch on an alarm for 6am, I failed to notice that it was primed for Wednesdays only. Thus, a glance at my watch at six-thirty resulted in an adrenaline rush that removed any immediate need for coffee.

Miraculously, I was out of the house only ten minutes later than I'd originally planned. And, as I'd allowed quite a bit of contingency to cater for the rush hour traffic in Leeds, I reckoned it would all be OK.

In fact, I was forty minutes early: the traffic in Leeds was negligible. Are there still that many people working from home?

Anyway, the meeting went well, and even included a trip around the enormous warehouse, for which I was kitted out with steel toe-capped boots, a high viz jacket, and some safety glasses.

As it happens, my youngest daughter from my first marriage, Milly, lives in Leeds. The fact I was now travelling on my own meant that we were able to meet up for lunch in the docks near her flat. It was a lovely finish to a busy morning. 

(In the evening, the Minx and I went to see 'The King's Man' at the Everyman. It wasn't bad, actually. I would recommend it if you're in the mood for a light hearted romp.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.