Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A movie afternoon

Another great tennis semifinal. But I couldn’t stay in to watch it, as I had to pop to Uncle A’s flat to meet up with my cousin A and brother and sis-in-law about taking a few mementos. I took a china cat from the Griselda Hill pottery. Uncle A had given me one years ago, and now I have two. They are, well - rather quirky and not to everyone’s taste. JR is not a particular fan…

In the afternoon we went to the pictures. I booked it yesterday, but it was not the film I meant to book… and when we got there today, it wasn’t even the right day! We eventually got to the booked film (which was not the one we wanted) but it was in the smaller cinema. I don’t think I should be in charge of organising any more holidays…

We saw ‘Nightmare Alley’, which was, well, OK. Mark Kermode RAVED about how terrific it was, so I should have known - I rarely agree with his recommendations. However, it was watchable (though eyes shut a few times to avoid gruesome scenes).

Archie went to spend the afternoon with Pip, which was much better for him than being on his own with his bone. And we want to get both dogs used to being in the other’s home. I bussed both ways.

JR offered to make the delivered meal this evening. It was Saag Aloo with Peas and Pitta - and most delicious it was too. It’s a potato, spinach and pea curry. Yum yum.

Here’s Archie with at least five leaves stuck to his beard. Is this a record?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.