stujphoto

By stujphoto

Carnations

As it has been a really miserable, wet and grey day my blip had to be done indoors. I chose to try one of my scanned flowers again, and on this occasion I chose a white carnation.

Having done scans of both the back and front of the flower and been disappointed in their blip potential, I decided also to do a scan of the top of the flower as the subtleties of shape and tone are so much more interesting. To do this I had to engage in radical surgery, cutting off the bloom really close to the petals as this is the only way it would fit into my raised scanner. But it was worth the sacrifce as the top of the flower produce a rewarding image.

Being unwilling to throw work away, I have combined these scans into one 3D Image but recognise that the true beauty of the image lies in the top of the flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.