WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Amelia and Lucy

We arrived at Sabrina’s at lunchtime - the journey seemed long today although the roads were clear all the way.
We had time for a cuppa and to relax before we walked to the school to collect the girls. They were so excited that Grandma and Granddad were at the school gate to meet them. Hugs and kisses from both and a big gappy smile from Lucy.
On the walk home I asked Amelia what she’d done at school today - er, nothing really - came the reply. I think it’s the common answer from lots of children.
Anyway, there was my poem in the making!

Tomorrow morning we will take them to school and then I am going to meet my son Marc for breakfast. I’m looking forward to seeing him as he has been a bit down recently.
When we pick the girls up at 3 tomorrow afternoon we’ll be taking them straight from school to Stirling Ice Rink. Amelia has a lesson and Lucy can just have a skate as it’s public skate time too.

Sabrina and her friend arrived safely and were enjoying the sunshine in Villamartin.
Frank made dinner for us all so John wouldn’t have to when he came in from work. He’s working on the new Batgirl Film in Glasgow. He builds the sets.
The girls are asleep in bed now and I have to quickly draw a hedgehog -
It’s all go!

34/365
What Did You Do In School?

What did you do in school today?

Nothing much really, Grandma.

So, you just sat there twiddling thumbs?

No, we did sums and I got a gold star.
We rode our bikes on an obstacle course
Round cones and a big yellow pole
Then we played netball and, Oh Grandma!
I was shooter and I scored a goal
Then we had time to read our books
I’ve nearly finished mine
And we did some writing about animals
And I wrote seventeen lines.

So, when you said you did nothing at school,
You actually did quite a lot.

Yes Grandma, I suppose I did
But when you asked me, I just forgot!

Goodnight Blippers ;-DX







 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.