I think I know why

Renewed my car insurance with ICBC today. In BC, car insurance is basically a crown corporation, meaning no competition on basic levels of insurance, only on the optional stuff.
I called. The only way to do it she said, was to make an in-person appointment, (first available 10 days from now, which is too late). Or, do it now, over the phone. Easy decision to make.
"Send me a picture of your odometer " she said.
"OK", I said
A few minutes later, Docusigned everything, printed out, and now just to wait for the decal to arrive in the mail. (Knowing Canada Post, I won't hold my breath, carrier pigeons would be faster.)
I added back the business use, a year after I took it off due to no travelling because of covid. thinking my rate would increase. Hell no, it actually went down a couple of percent. WTF?
And the odometer picture? 
I reckon it's two reasons.
1. To check next year that peoples "claim" that they do less than 5,000 kms per year to get a cheaper rate is legit.
2. To know the value if ever a write-off is required because of an accident.

We'll see.


Ah well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.