Heather

Today was a challenge. I went on a swimventure to the Lakes. We all had to meet in the car park at Rydal and then we hiked to Grasmere for our first swim. We stopped off in Rydal Cave, which was the only point of the day when I was dry. I have never been so wet through. We did just over seventeen and a half thousand steps, my knees ache, I’m shattered, I’ve only just warmed up and my bag got heavier and heavier as it got wetter and wetter and held first one load of wet swim gear and then a second.

The water was cold and it was an effort to get in, especially the second time. I wasn’t going to back out though and so I gritted my teeth and got in….brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

I’m an idiot as I didn’t take a spare set of clothes. I had to travel home wet through and shivery. Victoria didn’t have spare leggings so drove home in her knickers ha ha ha.

I’ve washed my soggy gear, I’ve just about warmed up and I’ve eaten a piece of gingerbread I bought in Grasmere on the way home. It will be an early night for me !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.