Learning Not To Lament A Lantern

After I dropped of my brother off at the station this morning I headed out to try and get a shot as it was such a lovely winter morning and the light was beautiful.
I parked the car in Aylesford village and walked around expecting the light to do all the work for me and produce an instantly great image standing looking across to the medieval bridge and the church tower but it didn't work out that way. I should have known better - photography can be a bit fickle like that but sometimes you have to put in a bit more effort and you might see something more unexpected.
I was lamenting my poor efforts (the bridge shots were badly composed and quite boring) when I turned the corner as I was walking back to the car and spotted this street lantern and its rather spectacular shadow created by the very light that I had been unable to take advantage of earlier. I like the combination of the shadow, the white brick work, the crack in the masonry on the right hand side, part of a window and the wonky roof line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.