SPhotography-One Year V2

By SummersPhoto

Portrait Session - The Other Side!

Back blip -

Friday was chaotic. After finding out that my flash gun had also given up at the same time as my old camera; it was a mad dash trying to find somewhere that stocked the Canon 600 speedlite. Steve found T4 cameras in Witney; a 100 mile round trip! Seeing that was the only "local" place, we set off at 10am to get to the camera shop and come back for the shoot in the afternoon. I am so glad that we found T4, amazing customer service, great prices, picked up a battery grip and a few accesories when I was there too! Other bonus, the town was one of those little quaint cutesy towns! We will definitely be heading back over that way when the weather picks up and make a day of it.

Then we had to hot foot it over to Richmond where I was going to get my photos taken! I haven't had a portrait session of me done since Venture days so knew it was going to be interesting! I don't mind having my photo taken, I have had a few people ask how I feel about being in front of the lens, when I say fine; they seem shocked - a photographer shouldn't be comfortable in front of the lens they ask. Nonsense - a photographer SHOULD be comfortable in front of the camera and know how to pose themselves, otherwise, how are we going to communicate with paying clients? Anyway I digress!

I met Stephen Cotterell at Aspire Photography Training in the Lake District last June when I attended the A-Z course. He really is a fascinating guy and a real pleasure to be around. He had recently bought a new piece of lighting kit and put a shout out on Facebook for models. Cue emails! Long story short, we met in Richmond today for our outing!

Stephen completely put me at rest as we chatted and walked to different locations. He involved me with the planning and asked for my input. So important as a photographer to let your subject know what is happening!

He shot for 2 hours, I posed and laughed for 2 hours. It was chilly in Richmond, but not too bad - the sun was shining along the river front - so picturesque.

He emailed me the shots on Saturday when I was shooting at a wedding, I was so happy with them, that I couldn't believe it was me! If Stephen is reading this - thank you so much! This is one of my top 5 images that I was so pleased with, deserving spot on blip!

Friday evening was chilling out at Steve's parents as it was his Mums birthday. Happy birthday if you are reading A!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.