Myra and Sabine

22 years ago when I first moved to the Blue Mountains to live I was fortunate to be introduced very early on to Myra and Sabine.  They lived on Shipley Road, about half way between Wombat Hollow and Blackheath.  Their property Narkoola became my home away from home and when I was living in the caravan I would often get a call from them in the afternoon inviting me down to their place for dinner.   They were always happy for me to bring my little dogs, Sandy and Georgie and my washing and even have a shower if I wanted to.  It certainly made living in the caravan for 12 months a lot easier!!   Mauzee and I met up with them both in Port Augusta when we were on our big trip last year and we all headed north to Uluru where Sabine was our Celebrant at our wedding and Myra was one of our witnesses.  Needless to say they are two of our closest friends and we love them very much.  

Yesterday we went to a celebration of both their birthdays (they’re within two days of each other) and the second Anniversay of their wedding.  It was a fantastic night and I have to tell you I was in my “Happy Place”.  The food was amazing and I can’t remember when I’ve eaten Persian Love Cake, Pavlova and Cheese Cake all on the same day!!!  For my Scottish friends, you may be impressed to know that Myra was dressed up to the nines in the most fantastic Scottish outfit and as you can see their was a lot of singing involved.  It was amazing to finally be able to attend such a function after two years of being banned from holding such events.  We had a fabulous night.  Here’s to many many more :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.