Goldie

Goldie, our resident Golden Whistler is still with us having arrived back home at Wombat Hollow on the 1st of September last year.  He is truly part of the family and today he was being particularly friendly as he sang just outside the kitchen window.  I have been trying for the past few days to capture his image as he warbles away on the terracotta pot.  Today he obliged and in fact I was able to video him as well as he sang his merry tune.  He is such a delightful little character.  

It has been raining pretty well all day today and the electrician who was due to come and do the wiring for our new Fisher and Paykel under bench oven rang at 7.15am to tell me the sad news that he could not  come today as it would be far too wet to work up on the roof.  It’s a big job as they have to install the special wiring from the sub board in the store room and it entails running a wire underneath a long part of the roof.  As most of my blip buddies know, I really love cooking and although I’ve been here for 22 years I’ve never had a fully fledged oven.  For the past 10 years I have had a Convection/Microwave oven which has been amazing really but it does restrict me somewhat because of the size of trays I can use.  Oh well, I guess another week won’t be too bad since I’ve waited so long now :). I’ve decided my first bake off must surely be the Date, Lemon and Ginger scones!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.