Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

SPRING!

Archie had a peaceful night! And he’s been fine all day. He had a ‘turn’ in January 2018 (I checked on blip) - so more than four years since this last happened. 

It was so warm and sunny this morning that we invited a Hazel over for coffee al fresco. Exciting! Spring proper is not far away.

Elizabeth came to take Archie out, and so we went into town to find somewhere tempting for lunch. We weren’t sure what we fancied, but a walk along Thistle Street provides lots of alternatives. Although the wee French cafe we started at, Cafe Marlayne, was shut, there were plenty of others. We decided on Dusit, a Thai restaurant, where we’ve been before and very much enjoyed. We both enjoyed our respective meals. And the service was excellent.

A wander along George Street - still lots of happy French people in town (they won the rugby yesterday). It was a glorious day. Definitely a wee bit of heat in that sun…

I then came home, but JR was - yes - returning an item. I was home in time for the second half of the Ireland/Italy game. I’m not so fanatical about watching the Italy games, because they’re not usually the tight games of the other matches. Having said that, Italy plays Scotland next, and I would never assume that we could beat them…

Other BIG news. I had a rush of blood to the head and re-joined Edinburgh Leisure, they have no joining fee this month. I have had the excuse that I’d join when our local gym is refurbished, but the end date keeps slipping. So I really MUST do something more than walking the dog. I will go swimming. I used to swim for 40 minutes non-stop, and that was a mile. Or maybe a kilometre. I worked it out instead of counting lengths. But I very much doubt that I could even do ONE length now! (They’re 50 metres, Olympic length). 

Now, where are my old togs. 

And can I still fit them…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.