Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dog paddle

An historic day… after many years of procrastinating, I finally went to the swimming pool. AND the gym! It had a lot to do with there being no joining fee (£30) this month. And, of course, I have always intended *ahem* getting back into proper exercise.

The Commonwealth Pool is splendid, and it wasn’t as cold as I’d remembered. I floundered around, did a lot of dog paddling, then tried a length of ‘freestyle’ (my version). Nope, too far. Tried again, and almost made it. Then the third time, I made it. Just. Lots of room to improve there!

Then I went to the gym, and I did 20 minutes on the treadmill. Actually, that was so good, because I was walking properly, upright, not just staggering forward as usual, eyes on the uneven pavements. Also, I could hold on. I’m sure it did me a LOT of good, just striding out like a normal person.

I was too tired to then do any more than 5 minutes on the cross trainer, but I will start on that next time, because that’s a killer.

And so I spent the rest of the day on the sofa, watching the news channels. I do admire those brave reporters who are staying on in a war zone to make sure we know what’s happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.