I Must Down to the Sea Again

Although I was verboten to get my new wound wet, I was still happy to accompany Sue to the Porty waves this morning. It was the kind of early morning you see in Greece, albeit had it been 20 degrees warmer.

There was another cloudless sky stretching as far as the eye could see and not a breath of wind to ruffle the water.The Fife coast lay on the other side of the Firth with the sun picking out the skyscrapers of Kirkcaldy.

While Sue dooked, I paddled in the shallows taking care that no rogue wave took me by surprise and splashed my chest. I did a spot of beach combing, but Porty beach is a remarkably clean beach if you factor out what the dogs do naturally. There never seems to be much seaweed unless in a gale and shells are not overly abundant either.

I was home in time to meet a friend freshly out of oral surgery and in need of a bit of tlc before she went home. We sat in the sun on the patio for the first time this year and it felt wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.