Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The shoveller is shelved.

My intention today was to venture to Figgate Park to try to get a photo of the lone shoveller duck that I saw on one of my bird watching days. I rang Uncle A and arranged to go blipping first and call in with him later today.

I don't always go upstairs on the bus - sometimes it's like climbing Kilimanjaro, especially with camera gear and my tripod, so it's only for longer trips. This wasn't a long trip, and I spotted the two front seats already occupied, but for some reason I still went up, and sat a few seats back.

In the front seat was a young woman, with dreadlocks, with a big dog on her lap. The person on the other front seat left, so I moved. I left it a few minutes before I patted the dog and started to talk to owner about him. He obviously thought he was a lap dog. The dog's name is Magnus, and the young lady, Susan, was very friendly and we chatted as we went along.

I asked where she going (nosy!) and she said she was going to the Art's Complex (apostrophe intentional). She had a studio there and did weaving and dreadlocks. This building is a huge, ugly, Stalinist block that was once offices. It's now, apparently, full to the brim with artists of all sorts! She invited me to come and have a look. I invited myself in.

It's the most fabulous place. They have a pottery studio, a photography studio, drawing classes, exhibition space, and building a dance space, as well as over 200 arty (but not farty) folk in all the rooms. The manager took me to see the pottery room, where I met Alison. It's brilliant, just what I would love (I used to do a bit of potting in NZ) but I will have to think about the monthly rental. I don't think I can justify it just to fiddle around.

I popped in to see the exhibition that's on at the moment. Amazing huge murals by Chris Rutterford. He spent a lot of time talking to everyone who came in, and he is still working on one as part of his exhibition. He's done a lot of live painting around town, apparently- eg John Lewis' window at Christmas.

I will pop back there and explore further. I was so excited at discovering what joy lay behind the awful exterior.

And all because of a dog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.