Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Round the ‘hood

Yes, I went to the gym today when JR returned from her early session. And yes, I managed 20 minutes on the cross trainer. Though it was two minutes forward, two minutes backwards, and a minute’s rest. Boy, it was HARD! But it will get easier.

I also did 20 minutes on the treadmill (much easier) and several arm and leg lifts. 

I had a chat with a couple of the staff about, yes, the MUSAK. It’s bl**dy awful. Screechy, tuneless, LOUD, tinny…
I asked, ‘Have you got any NICE music?’ 
They looked puzzled and asked like what?
Well, I’m listening to the Cranberries at the moment.’
One chap said, ‘The Cranberries? Good shout!’ ‘
I think they imagined I’d be listening to Bing Crosby…

But they did sympathise, and admitted it drives THEM mad, but they have no say in the playlist. Also that the main complaint every day - the MUZAK. I think a letter of complaint to the management will be sent very soon. Also, it’ll save them a music licence fee.

It was Abi’s birthday, so in the afternoon, we took Pip and his mum out for a coffee and scone at the Red Box - they hadn’t been there before. Then we went to the local hardware shop to pick up our newly sharpened knives. Abi had not been in there either, but Archie knows it well - he pushed open the door himself and ran in for his treat. Now Pip knows about it. Pip has a very smart new haircut - makes Archie look like a wee sheep. (Haircut imminent.)

I then came home and watched some news, but promptly fell asleep. JR went into town. I am very tired, I wonder why… (9,341 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.