thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Horseshoe Bend

Because we didn't go to Bryce Canyon we've got a day spare in our itinerary and so we're spending two nights in Page, where our cheap motel is a lot more affordable than the classy hotel we were at in Zion. Everything we read about Page told us it was a dump - but no one told us about Horseshoe Bend, an overlook three miles south of town where you can look down on the Colorado River as it takes its huge sweep round this buttress in Glen Canyon. The cliffs here are only 1,000 feet high - just a small step compared to further down the Canyon.

I've got to be honest, there is no way I would have leaned over the edge to take this picture. I got to a few feet from the edge at this place and a kind elderly lady from Colorado with a great deal more pluck than me offered take this picture on my camera. S also managed the same shot on hers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.