UNE

In 2019, UNE released their debut album, 'Lost'. I discovered it a few months later, and it was my album of 2020*. Not only were the music and the electronics wonderful, but Mark Radcliffe - yes, that Mark Radcliffe - is a great lyricist. The songs on 'Lost' are all about words for which there is no direct equivalent in English and it's done beautifully.

Then last year, they released two albums: 'Deux' and 'Spomenik'. The first is concerned with all sorts of "partnerships and pairings" while the second is inspired by cold war era concrete structures that are to be found in Yugoslavia. Really, what's not to like?

If I have a criticism of UNE, though, it is around their communication. For example, they recently played Settle Victoria Hall, a venue I love and just a few miles east of Kirkby Lonsdale. I completely missed it.

HOWEVER, I did find out that the duo were playing a fundraiser for The Christie in their home town of Knutsford. I promptly bought tickets and this evening the Minx and I had dinner with our colleague Lou and her lovely husband, James, and then the four of us went along to St John's Parish Church for the CommUNEion show.

It was the oddest crowd I'd ever seen at an electronic music concert, almost certainly because everyone was local and had come along to support The Christie. Consequently - and I do mean this in the nicest possible way - they looked more like an audience for an am-dram performance of 'The Pirates Of Penzance'.

But, as you'd expect, Mark Radcliffe makes for a charming and witty frontman and had the crowd eating out of his hand. I think everyone enjoyed themselves.

And as to the music: well, it was terrific. The sound wasn't perfect but, you know, it was a gig in a church. But UNE make for a great live act and I'm looking forward to seeing them again.

*I'm not aware of any guidance stating that my Albums Of The Year have to be released in that year (even if they often are).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.