Living my dream

By Mima

Top and tail

I chucked Bean’s favourite blanket over her this morning when she was curled up in the tightest of balls on the sofa. It was a clear message that she was freeeeezing.

After I’d done a few breakfasty things (albeit a fasting breakfast) I turned to look at her and discovered this strange slug lying there.

The colonography went smoothly this morning. It took about 20 minutes. The preparation took almost four days and I lost 2.5kg in the process. By the time I got to the hospital today I was almost on my knees, despite having emergency electrolytes for breakfast, so I felt a euphoric relief when I tucked into a honey sandwich as soon as it was over.

The flan I baked for this afternoon has remained in the fridge. My tummy wasn’t ready for it today. But come tomorrow….!

That 2.5kg will go back on in fewer than four days.

I’ve not enjoyed the last few days at all, but as I drove into town this morning feeling like sh*t, all I could think was how lucky I am to be able to see my GP more or less whenever I need to. How lucky I am to have a hospital with a CT scanner which is free to me. How lucky I am to be able to come home afterwards to a property full of food, water and shelter. How lucky I am to sleep peacefully tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.