Journies at home

By journiesathome

Bumps and humps

Nico drove deliberately fast along the straight river road and over the hump backed bridge so we all hit our heads on the car's ceiling.
 
Mu was crotchety as we walked back home across hills from Manses.  She's always like this when my brother comes because Nico and I apparently misbehave and embarrass her.  She's also become proprietorial about the kitchen at N°25 and Ju cramps her style by taking over her personal oven space.  
It's lose-lose on weekends like this and I find myself rolling my eyes and biting my tongue as we walk through the rain
.
Up at Magalas the Wilds were on form.  Myrtle pulled a long black velvet coat out of her wardrobe and gave it to me as a present, then put on a bin bag to do the cooking.  Mana and I sat on the balcony getting cold while she told me of her sorrows and chain smoked.  Stéphane looked downcast as he straightened the knives and forks on the already laid table but a few glasses of wine and Ireland's victory at Twickenham loosened him up.  
We came up with an incoherent plan to try to stop Sean sending money to a Filipino girl he met virtually during lock down while Jeff played Leonard Cohen until we all got maudlin and went home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.