Dinner

I seemed to take ages to get myself organised - Andrea, Pete, Carol and Phil were coming to eat tonight and I think the more time I have to prepare, the more time there is faff about, so I decided to walk to Pondicherry to leave Richard’s books with his mum for him to sign. As I set off I felt a twinge in my calf which got progressively more painful. I kept thinking I could walk it off but it just got worse. I really should have phoned Mr C and asked him to drive along to pick me up but that felt too feeble. I didn’t go in to see Hazel as I didn’t want her to get my chest infection as she is prone to bronchitis etc and Tom isn’t too well. Richard was there and came to the door and though I told him I loved his book I did tease him not to give up the day job. (He recently laid our new path).

The meal is above. I made up a nice dressing for the chicory, bacon, walnut ricotta salad. The main course was a chicken dish - I hate cooking any meat - the touching it, the fat, the smell etc but they assured me it was very tasty. (I ate the veg and beans part of it). Pudding was a Nigella recipe - cake, ginger wine, cream and passion fruit thing. It was OK but not as tasty as I hoped.

Mr C says I must put my feet up tomorrow, do my knitting and read my book and let the antibiotics get a chance to work. The physio has a cancellation tomorrow evening so hopefully he’ll give my calf a good seeing to and I’ll can make further progress towards John O Groats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.