Birthday!

My birthday celebrations actually started just after midnight when Abi gave me her present, which is tickets for me and her to see The Dandy Warhols playing live. It's a great and thoughtful present - the Dandies being a band that we both love - although the best bit is that we are going together.

Thus Abi was able to stay in bed, this morning, when the Minx and I made an early start for her present to me: a curated day in Manchester. We dropped the car in Salford and walked into Manchester for breakfast at The Ivy, where Hannah was waiting for us. The Ivy have got it right; great surroundings, wonderful staff, and really good - and nicely priced - food.

After that, we walked across to Jane Eyre, where Charlie joined us for drinks before we strolled over the square to Hallé St Peter's for a mooch around an arts fair. I must admit to finding these situations a little awkward - looking at someone's work whilst they're sat right in front of you - but I did see a few things I liked and the Minx treated me to a couple of gorgeous little candle holders.

Next stop was Home, to see a Spanish film called 'Amparo'. This was a thoughtful nod by the Minx, back to my days living in Edinburgh, when I would go two the cinema at least once a week, often seeing European films at the Cameo and Filmhouse. This one was great.

After that we went over to Cloud 23 to watch the sun go down. This bar is on the twenty-third floor of Beetham Tower and whilst I had a great time with the Minx sipping cocktails and looking out over Manchester, the venue itself is a terrible rip off - outrageously so when compared with, say, the Rheinturm - but that's a grumble for another day.

And finally we had dinner at The Black Friar, which we've often said we must go to, and that didn't disappoint at all. Much like The Ivy - the opposing bookend to my day - the restaurant was great, as was the food, and the staff really made it. It was a cracking birthday; the Minx made it into a brilliant event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.