stellarossa

By stellarossa

Literary Festival

Lovely friend Sandy offered me a ticket to hear Val McDermid in conversation at the Sheldonian. I’ve worked every weekend and most evenings for 5 weeks now and an evening off was very welcome. Val is always entertaining although I find her books quite light and untaxing - great for a long journey, but not anything that challenges my brain or thinking. She was on good form. Afterwards we tried to have dinner at TapSocial - a great little social enterprise. Our first problem was a raucous table of students whose conversation was made up entirely of shouting which meant we couldn’t actually hear each other. A stripped back pub without soft furnishings looks great, but with nothing to absorb noise it gets very loud. Then a busy kitchen meant a meal mix up. My main course arrived. We said we hadn’t had our starters, so it was taken back to the kitchen. Then returned as I was told I would have to have my starter after my main course as they were too busy. That’s a first! I love the place so we let it go, and compared to what’s going on in the world…. The food was great though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.