Living my dream

By Mima

Spotlights

We were in town today. I’m shopping faster and am more list-driven than ever as Covid cases increase hereabouts. I was in and out of the supermarket in 8 minutes, followed by 5 minutes at the library.

The hospital and GP clinics are all reporting being stretched to their limits. And we’re still a couple or three weeks from the peak apparently. I’m being very cautious.

So it felt particularly odd to simply walk into shops without scanning QR codes: the requirement was lifted a couple of days ago.

We walked at Cape Wanbrow before the skies cleared; but there were signs of the sun to come, as it spotlighted the Pacific through the clouds. It was a lovely walk during which Bean met four very friendly dogs.

Back at home I let the new chooks into the larger more open run. They have been exploring it all afternoon and seem quite at home already.

I dug half of the potatoes and have spread them out to dry before putting them into the cool store. While I was mid-potato bed I dug up a large and very smelly bone. Thank you Bean. Poo-ee. Even she sniffed and turned up her nose when I called her over.

Tilda came over later and made a bee-line for the stinking thing. She took it home with her, much to my delight, although not to her owner’s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.