living in a glass house

By DandelionTree

Chester!

We were in Chester with my dad a year ago yesterday, maybe this can become an annual tradition!

I peeked out of the window this morning and the sun was streaming down like some glorious thing! By the time we got out of the house, though, there wasn't even a teeny tiny billowing ray left so I had to wonder if I'd imagined it all. By the time we got to Chester it was even more blustery. *sigh* We braved it, though, and it wasn't even that bad. It was a really nice day, actually. We had plenty of time to walk around, go to a few shops, tour the wall and it's little curiosities (Look! Carl it too short for that door!), etc. We went down to the waterfront and got a surprise. We heard shouting and look up at the wall to see Neil and Rhianna there. I was sure they were on the road already as they had left our house this morning to visit a friend and said they were driving South after that. So it was a pleasant surprise and we walked around a bit with them before they took off for the long trip to Epsom again.

My favourite part was a whimsical little area we found with carved stacked teacups and a carved butter knife going into a log. Why? I'm not sure but I felt we were in Alice's Wonderland for a short while. There was also a boat lock there which was interesting as I'd never really looked at one close up. I asked what Chickpea's favourite bit was and she said, "Standing in that circle- I didn't like the walk cuz I fell over that rock." It was true, she went stone hopping and bumped her head, poor thing.

On a side note, Monkey has been truly walking the last few days. In the weeks following his 5-6 step debut he has barely walked at all, maybe a step here an a few steps there, but he has now decided to be a proper walker. There's no stopping him now. Plus, today he climbed up on the back of the couch! How in the world did he get so agile and daredevilish?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.