The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

A Gift to be Simple - The Tree of Life

"Simple Gifts"
'Tis the gift to be simple, 'tis the gift to be free
'Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,
And when we find ourselves in the place just right,
'Twill be in the valley of love and delight.

Shaker folk dance/song by elder Joseph Brackett written in 1848 in Alfred, Maine

Simple Gifts

I'm in a bit of an introspectively philosophical mood this weekend and have tried to create an image that speaks to what I love most about Maine, my home for so many years and a place I dearly miss. The shells are symbolic of the sea and my Tree of Life medallion both represents Maine's forests and embodies the spirit, shared with the Shakers, of simplicity, freedom, and pride in craftsmanship.

I'm not sure I even came close, but I tried .... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.