The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Fenceline

Over the weekend, when Connie and I were in Daytona, I brought Niki (my Nikon D3100) with me to handle the Blip workload with Smartypants, my cell phone, as backup. When I was finished shooting for the day I realized that the shots I had taken at both the Ponce Inlet Lighthouse and on Seabird Island were either out of focus or had a blue cast to them that made them unusable. Thank goodness Smartypants had wanted to take a picture of the lighthouse or I would have been blipless.

"Why", I wondered "is everything blue and blurry?".

"You idiot", I answered "you chose the wrong white balance setting" (I've done this before so I was familiar with that particular shade of blue). Upon further investigation I also discovered I had mistakenly set the camera's mode selector to manual focus and the lens to automatic.

"Oh darn" I said to myself, "double darn" (or words to that effect). Then it it hit me like a bolt out of the blue. "Ouch" (bolts out of the blue hurt), "Niki's jealous! This is payback for spending most of my time lately with Bump and Smartypants".

So we had a talk. I promised to take her on blip hunts at least as often as Bump, starting with every day this week, and to read her manual from cover to cover. In return she promised not to mess with her settings or with my head. It's a good deal.

Today we did a scenic county road loop (475/475A). I discovered this particular lane and fence-line when I stopped to take a picture of a tree in the pasture. Several other pics were colorful contenders for today's blip and if youd like they can be seen here.

.... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.