Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Digiscoping

Not tried digiscoping for a long time.

I don't have a scope but there is one in the family :-)

I was trying to use the scope and capture it with my phone. I've never had much success the best was at Cley last October and that was distant view of the Beach hut - it was OK.

Today I had a friendly Chaffinch all lined up - it was sitting a long time for me and looked perfect in the scope but I was all fingers and thumbs with the phone and so that bird flew.

I never managed to get the scope on a bird that stayed in position after that. So I turned my attention to the bird bath after all it wasn't going to fly away.

So this was the best I could get. The central circular image is quite small and I'm told I need a bigger eyepiece for the scope - more light for the camera to capture - that makes sense.

But many years ago I bought an adaptor to fit my SLR directly to the scope and I really have forgotten why I have not tried that for such a long time - my initial test shots were reasonably good - I'll try again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.