There's only a handful

I went over to Piggott's Bottom this morning, to see how the daffodils are doing in this year for eccentric weather.

There were sunny patches and I was optimistic. As I walked along the path, I noticed a man with full tripod and photographic gear - but he was pointing it OUT of the wood. I asked him if he was looking for a shot of something specific. He replied, "No - just something that makes a good landscape"

We were standing in the bit before the daffodils so I asked him how the famous daffodils were doing. "There's only a handful," he replied. We commented on the odd weather and that so much was delayed. Then he asked me about Georges Hayes, the other protected Staffordshire reserve just along the road. It was his first visit to either. I commented that the other was also well worth a visit.

And I carried on up the bank towards where the daffodils usually are.

He can't have walked up there. I had several "Wordsworth moments" as the sun came and went and they looked spectacular. "Only a handful" ? Not exactly !

He's definitely NOT a blipper.....

Up the bank

By the water in the hollow

woodland daffs

bee in flight, with celandines

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.