Boca do Inferno

We left Lisbon this morning and headed for the coast, to the charming resort of Cascais.

After I'd blipped yesterday, before our meal, we went to a free piano recital in the Palacio Foz. It is a stunning palace and we wanted to see inside.

An ambitious programme. Those who fell asleep were fortunate. Thoughts turned to Les Dawson. He survived the Chopin Polonaise (just). I'm not just being picky. If I'd ever heard a similar performance from an A level music student, I would have been sick to my stomach. One of those times you avoid catching someone's eye :-)

The hotel here is super luxurious, a Pousada (like a Spanish parador). I couldn't work out how to change the contraption from a bath to a shower setting. But there was a phone in there so I could just ring Reception :-)

The photo is of the Boca do Inferno (Hell's Mouth) where great columns of water shoot up at high tide. It was here that Aleister Crowley faked his own death. Quite a spot on the Atlantic Coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.