Grey Heron

The young one flew over and met me mid way between the gate and the loch. I was pleased to see there was no bleeding or signs of a wound. I think it was just the last of the calcium crust breaking off (this had  protected her beak when it was forming). She was about 3/4 the way through her fish when a woman was coming down the slope with her dog. She spotted me and called her dog back and put it on a lead - if only they all did that. As soon as she was finished I made my way to the gate. I looked round and saw her flying above me. She flew out of the park but circled back in and landed on the grass looking back towards me. I just had to keep walking. 
This afternoon she flew over to the edge of the loch. I had just started feeding her when a brother and sister approached. They were throwing bird food to the geese and ducks. They were amazed to see the heron so close - I was amazed she didn't take off. The little boy threw some food towards her but she just ignored it. I told him that Heron don't really eat that sort of food. His sister added that they only eat fish. He threw a bit more saying it might change it's mind. They walked on a bit and started feeding some more ducks. I finished feeding the young one and started back down the path. I heard the children running back to see the young one but unfortunately she was off Back to the nest area.
Don't know what she was up to but her crest was sticking up again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.