Amandine's Plot Treize

By AmandineJardine

Plot inspections

When I took on the plot (in January) 5 years ago, I quickly understood there was 2 types of gardeners, all-year-round gardeners and fair weather gardeners.

Around April or May, I start asking people l haven't seen since the end of the growing season if they've had a good winter! The same happens at the lake where I swim all year round - when the water's above 12 or 13 degrees, masses of triathletes arrive and it suddenly feels like a swimming pool...

I'm not put off by winter weather and one of the things that brings me joy and comfort is experiencing the seasons with the plot. I enjoy the flurry of activity that comes with spring/summer as much as I enjoy things slowing down in the autumn, wet leaves, and pumpkins curing in the greenhouse. I find the allotment beautiful under a thick layer of snow (and need to keep the pond ice-free so staying at home on the coldest days isn't on!), I like the quietness and stillness of winter, followed by the promising first signs of light, late winter sunshine and spring bulbs. 

I'm also baffled by the thought of having to "turn your plot around" for inspections. It can't be fun, and yet people seem to do it every year! The "little and often" approach is much easier and it's a relief to know my plot's always ready for inspections.

The manager of the nature reserve, who enjoys a daily walk round the plots, gave me a lovely compliment the other day - he says I've got the most weed-free plot of the entire allotment! I'd like to know what the committee say when they inspect my plot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.