Amandine's Plot Treize

By AmandineJardine

Early spring nematodes

We've been promised rain for weeks and yesterday's 10-mn downpour, which only watered a thin layer of topsoil, is as close as we'll get to wet weather, I fear. 

That's bad news for nematodes - best applied on a rainy day, after at least a day of rain! - but these Nemaslugs weren't going to last much longer in my fridge so I decided that last night was my best chance to water them in the soil. 

I then gave each application area a very good soak (a total of probably 40 or 50 watering cans, using my garden cart... a taste of what's to come this summer!) and I've now got to keep everything crossed the nematodes stay alive long enough to find the slugs...

At least today's cloudy. If all goes well, I'll have no trouble planting out my lettuce seedlings next week - and fortunately the muntjacs don't seem particularly interested in lettuce!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.