Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Erythronium californicum White Beauty

Another dog tooth violet that is hiding under an exuberant hellebore.  I spotted it a few days ago, and when weeding yesterday, realised that it was definitely worth a photo.  It really is a little beauty - and Monty Don agreed with me on Gardener's World last night.  But it was only when looking at the photos this evening that I realised just how beautiful, with that yellow blush and the delicate line of pink at the base of the petals.  I see that there are several more buds yet to open.

W spent a good part of the day mowing the grass, and also put up a couple of shelves in the shed so that we can leave the bird seed and nuts safely off the ground even when the fridge and freezer that they are currently resting on have been passed to the Heart Foundation.  I took a trip to the farm shop, where I found the local asparagus was on sale.  And I made W an exuberant bow tie.

Our neighbours have adopted our potted acers and roses, and came to collect them this evening.  I was sad to see them go, they have been particularly spectacular this spring, but we can't take them to Ireland, and at least this way we know they are being looked after and appreciated.

Now W is cooking our favourite asparagus meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.