Easter

I don't normally take photos of people I don't know, especially those in unfortunate circumstances.  But intros are and with the face obscured I felt I could.

I have a number of shots from today - see extras - of a magnificent art museum, Easter bunny ears and sunset skylines.  It ws a day of the Philadelphia art museum; Independence Hall; walking over and back on the Benjamin Franklin Bridge to New Jersey; and going up to the top of the Four Seasons Hotel for sunset views.

All very much the tourist things to do and enjoy.  But I've been struck since arriving in the USA by how often we are approached by people in need asking for food. Indeed I was followed in to a deli by someone asking me to buy something.  Every block or so there are individuals sleeping under blankets, carrying all their belongings on a bicycle they wheel around, some clearly in a state of mental distress.  Many sleep out beside buildings or on gratings.  

The blip is not the best of pictures and could do with some editing when I get home but as we walked back in the late afternoon cool sunshine (11oC cooler than yesterday), the image was striking. There were a few people within feet of each other sleeping above the warm vents from the subway.

I am finding the USA very expensive compared to home.  The price tags on most things (other than petrol) are comparatively much more expensive and then on top there is often a local tax and there is a ubiquitous expectation of a tip from 15/18% to 20/23%.  It is how many get much of their income.   For those who have money the USA seems a great place to live.  For those who don't, the hardship is severe.  There is a very strong ethos of raising funds for charitable causes but not all benefit.

So some issues to reflect on as well as enjoying Easter Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.