Dancing on the Ceiling

A scene from last night’s gig. A not uncommon occurrence for our lead singer to take to the tables at this venue - the joys of wireless technology - but as an added twist this time, he was joined by one of our guitarists. Unfortunately, his wireless doesn’t extend to being able to change effects, so it was up to me to stamp on his pedalboard at the appropriate juncture so he could do his solo. I know my place! Because we did two long sets, I actually used both my guitars, which made a change, though I forgot how powerful the pickup is in one of them and almost deafened the drummer before he had time to adjust the levels in is in-ear monitors. I call it payback for all the times I’ve had to stand right next to his kick drum!
As always when we play at the Piel Castle we had a large crowd all out to enjoy themselves. I suspect there may have been a few hangovers today judging by how much “enjoyment” some people were consuming! But it was a very late finish - still playing at 12.30 and not home until 2am.
Not surprisingly, a lazy day today, though I have cleaned and tidied all my leads and cables (just chucked them in the car last night!) and mown the lawn. Technically I think it was more “lowering all the weeds to the same level” than “mowing a lawn”, but it all looks very nice, especially now it’s getting dark and if you squint a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.