Cliffs and PreHistory-Stromness Day 7

Falling asleep while internet surfing at 3pm, phone in hand is not something I’m proud of.

In mitigation, let me say that Daughter#1 and I had left the flat at 9am for a coastal walk at Yesnaby with strong winds making the proximity to nasty looking cliffs rather frightening to this Lady who is scared of heights. Pictures and videos were taken of crashing waves before we called it a day and drove to Scara Brae and Skaill house for a cultural visit to the lives of our ancestors.

Onwards and upwards to Birsay where against all odds we managed to have a bowl of soup and a beremeal flapjack before continuing on back to Stromness and a swim in the sea off the Ness. Another lady joined us and in her company I felt brave enough to swim out to a buoy through lively waves.

I’m blaming the hot shower that made me doze off like the old lady I am while the daughter sauntered off for a look round the Pier Art centre.
I think she thought I had died in my chair when she returned with the olives and nuts for our preprandial drinks in the garden where we could sit behind the sea wall in the sun and watch the boats coming and going a few yards away.

Another lovely day, mostly in the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.