Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

We Are Family

It’s been too long a while since M and I had a few days away, so where better to visit this week than London? And who better to spend a convivial afternoon/evening with than my excellent brother, https://www.blipfoto.com/RockNerd, my wonderful sister-in-law, and my superb niece.

It was lovely to finally introduce M to some of my family members and she proved to be a big hit on the niece front! LOH cooked an absolutely delicious Indian meal and I was persuaded to try a snifter of Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Fire, which severely impeded my ability when we played a game of Dobble, but enhanced my capacity at Taco, Cat, Goat, Cheese, Pizza. Who’d have guessed?

It was a thoroughly delightful evening, and today’s song selection was alluded to over the dinner table; it’s ‘I Got You, Babe’ - sung here by Joey Ramone and Holly Beth Vincent (of Holly and The Italians fame) www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFZvXT4LBQw 

Earlier in the day, M and I paid a visit to Tate Britain to see Hew Locke’s amazing installation, ‘The Procession’ www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/hew-locke - a beautiful and powerful piece about the slavery, colonialism and commerce on which the Tate and so many of our national institutions were built (see Extras). In the piece, a parade of the people upon whose backs the gallery - and the British Empire - was built comes back to reclaim the space, in anger and in celebration. No longer invisible. 

Afterwards, we had a sunny walk across the Thames and past the National Covid Memorial Wall https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Covid_Memorial_Wall - another memorial to the named, and nameless, people whose lives and deaths have been swept under the carpet by the powerful and callous. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.