New Beginnings

I decided to enroll on a Pottery Class! Since being made redundant I find it hard to get out and meet people and have always been quite fascinated by ceramics and pottery. Then I found The Great Pottery Throwdown and am hooked!

Its a small group of 5 of us in a splendid Clay Studio Barn in Crowborough.  The teacher is young, patient and talented and their technician is Cellan from the last series so we are all a bit star struck!!!

Our 1st project was to make stacking bowls using the pinch pot method (sticking your thumb into a ball of clay and gently pinching it to spread it out into a bowl). Sounds easy but quite tricky for a beginner to get the bowls to stack within each other uniformly! We will then Raku fire them using a material of our choice.  I'm going to try and collect feathers while I'm at the Cabin!

Iv watched so much on You Tube and Instagram that I felt I knew what the tutor was talking about but it was nice to finally get to touch the soft, wet clay.

Sadly its Bank Holiday next week but I'm itching to get back and play some more!

I was buzzing when I got home and glad I'd prepared dinner in my new (donated) slow cooker. So many news its great!!

Then Bella and sat watching a squirrel feeding right outside the sitting room door window!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.