BRIANW

By BRIANW

Covid Has Come To This House, Aylesford

Well at last it has happened - Covid has come to this house. Yet, strangely, weirdly, discombobulating it is not me. It's not the person who gets on a packed train every day with a massive number of people not wearing masks, it's not the person who pops to a busy pub for a lunchtime pint and it's not the person who has people coming to and fro from his work studio everyday. It is, of course, my brother who does none of these things - go figure! That's why I thought I'd represent my sense of amazement with today's discombobulating image, it felt appropriate somehow.
My brother tested positive yesterday evening. I knew as soon as he started coughing that something was up and sure enough his lateral flow test had that ominous second line within less than twenty seconds of him taking it. I've also been feeling rough but taken two tests, both of which are negative. Makes no sense at all. All this wasn't helped by the other member of the household declaring "I've got to get a train to Scotland tomorrow and I've already paid for my ticket" without expressing any concern about how my brother was feeling which was, as you can guess, rotten. Said person has taken their test (helped by me) and tested negative so decided to get on the said train. I'm amazed I can be related to someone so self-centred but there you go.
My brother is not feeling much better and has gone for a lie down. I'm feeling slightly better, will do another test first thing tomorrow morning and if it's negative I'm expected in work as normal tomorrow. The world is a strange, surreal place at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.