Kit's Year

By Kit267

The Same Architect As Castle Howard

With Mr Kit still being away in Portugal and Eldest heading to Leeds for the day, I arranged to meet my friend A for a walk. We met at the local Buddhist centre where there is a cafe that we knew we could end up afterwards.

We had a lovely walk along the Wolds Way to the next village of Millington. We walked about 6 miles and so definitely felt as if we deserved our panini and cake. The centre is in what was Kilnwick Percy Hall, designed by the same architect as Castle Howard and Harewood House.

As well as the building, it has beautiful grounds with an abandoned church, a lake and gardens to explore, including a walled garden with lots of interesting nooks, crannies, walls and gates.

I had a late night jaunt into York as I offered to collect Eldest from the station at midnight to save the huge expense of a taxi home. I had planned to get to York early with my camera and take some night shots, but I bottled it in the end as I wasn’t sure how safe I would feel on my own, on a busy night in the city centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.