"Newly discovered" *eye-roll*

Back up to Kirkby Lonsdale with Izzy, this evening, and out for a curry together, which we have both been looking forward to. And, as ever, Spice Essence didn't disappoint; we had a terrific meal.

After which, we weren't quite ready to go home, so we popped into the King's Arms for a couple of glasses of wine. It's amazing how much we found to talk about when one way or another we chat most days, whether that's a couple of texts or a full-blown FaceTime conversation. (Our last one, only a couple of weeks ago, lasted an hour and forty-five minutes!)

This framed poster was up on the wall. Such is my low opinion of marketing companies, I found myself tutting under breath, both at "the land of waterfalls" and my unfounded and cynical doubt that, at the time the poster was pressed, there really were any "newly discovered caverns".*

You know, I'm not a cynical man by nature, but this is what nearly eighteen years of dealing with marketing companies has done to me!

*OK, I had a quick look on Wikipedia. The caves were discovered in 1923 and the poster appears to be dated 1934.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.