The Padlock - Again. Lumix M4/3 20mm

This time it's on the oak cabinet which it secures.  Years ago,  in the building where I had my woodworking shop, somebody was throwing away an oak frame about 3 feet high, by two feet wide by 8 inches deep.  For some reason, it spoke to me, even though I'm not given to dumpster diving.  I dragged it back to my shop and set to work turning it into a cabinet which would house all my hand planes.  Again, out of character for me to lavish time and effort on such a utility item,  I made a set of paneled oak doors to close the front, and a plywood back.  Then I saw the massive railway lock in a catalog, and fabricated from brass a staple and hasp to fit the lock... Ars longa, Vita brevis.  Then I moved the workshop, and everything went into storage seven years ago.  Last week, the plane cabinet re-emerged.  The original oak frame was much too ratty to be left as it was, so I painted it the same color as the walls of the room, and varnished the oak doors to give them some color.
The cabinet had to be set very high on the wall to clear my work bench, so the top shelf, useless for smaller things, forms a perfect yet temporary home for the Single Malt and Armenian Brandy.   The Extras give a glimpse inside and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.