zippyhippy

By zippyhippy

Industrial!

Miranda going all industrial today on the way to the coalface. I was musing on my journey this morning about just how much I love riding her to work. As soon as I awaken her from her slumber in the morning, a huge smile spreads across my face and the minute I sit on her saddle and start pushing her pedals, an enormous happy feeling appears in the pit of my stomach and starts to radiate out across my body. She is just a big, bulky and gorgeous girl.

The cycle to work scheme that I took out for my Cyclocross bike is ending next month which means I would be able to take out another one if I so desired. I probably would like to get a proper road bike at some point but for the time being I think that I can get by on riding the Focus on slicks. I am also starting to think about perhaps getting a track bike if I am going to make the Velodrome a regular part of my cycling fun. I have been investigating the possibility of putting drop bars on my commuter bike but this is definitely not going to be happening. I can get STI levers which work an Alfine hub and I can get the drop bars but unfortunately the company that make them, Versa, have confirmed that they only work with manual disc brakes and not hydraulic which is what the Ridgeback runs. My plan had been to use this bike as a winter trainer. It would require 0 maintenance, just a wee wash down after a run. I can still use it with the straight bars though so not a complete disaster. I would change the handlebars because being a commuter bike they are quite short, as they are designed to fit between queuing cars etc. and I would add on some bar ends just to give me a couple more hand positions.

Man I love bikes !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.