GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

What did you say?

"Your talk," I said, "is surely the handiwork of wisdom because not one word of it do I understand."
- Flann O'Brien, The Third Policeman

I mentioned my friend Gareth a couple of days ago and last night we had a short conversation that he started with... "Fragment of a conversation overhead off Grafton St in Dublin this afternoon; two middle aged gents, one amicably greeting the other: "You used to be Dan O'Mara, you're looking remarkably well..."

It got a laugh from me anyway. Gareth is one those guys who would not be out of place in a Flann O'Brien novel or play. Witty and funny and also with a quick wicked smile.

Not so with little missy whatshername up there in the photo. She was in my chair again when I got home. My desk in a mess. Papers and books all over the place. I was not impressed and when I had words with her she sat up and gave me the look of "What did you say?"

One of them days again. To make matters worse I did venture out mid afternoon for a stroll and took my camera. 30 add pics and not one of them usable for anything and certainly not a blip amongst them. Not happy.
So I had little choice other than to get some iPhone shots in a last minute dive into desperation. Got a couple shots of muggins before she ran off, the other cat wouldn't sit still. I almost posted this one of the Rattage, but right on the death knock I blipped the above. This one was also close.

Today's Lesson -

"The gross and net result of it is that people who spent most of their natural lives riding iron bicycles over the rocky roadsteads of this parish get their personalities mixed up with the personalities of their bicycle as a result of the interchanging of the atoms of each of them and you would be surprised at the number of people in these parts who are nearly half people and half bicycles...when a man lets things go so far that he is more than half a bicycle, you will not see him so much because he spends a lot of his time leaning with one elbow on walls or standing propped by one foot at kerbstones."
- Flann O'Brien, The Third Policeman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.