Ruta's Quilt

I don't usually get overly attached to the quilts make, but I find that I'm having a hard time taking this one down off the wall. I does liven up the room! I still have to make a few calls to find somebody in the area who can quilt it. I was snipping loose threads off the back and managed to snip the quilt. Spot the patch which I did making no effort to conceal or match it, but I doubt if it will be noticed much in the grand scheme of things....It shows up best in the thumbnail.

After a period of bitter winds and a freak hailstorm that did in John's newly planted cucumbers, It is now 80F (26.6c). The winds have died down and we've raised the umbrellas again. We sat on the porch for coffee this morning with Dana and Jim and tried to decide on a fire resistant decking material. John favors a concrete/epoxy combination which I can't picture, and I sort of favor a composite material that is on all the other decks around the house, even though I don't like the fake wood grain in it. There is another one that is better looking so if we can get it in a color that blends in with what we already have I think I would favor it.

Nothing will be decided until David shows up again. One never knows quite when that will be....

I took myself downtown to buy a second cushion for our TV room couch. Many of our furnishings were purchased with Ozzie in mind including our dark brown couch. We also have a dark brown rug in the living room. Now, however, we have a black and white dog which is a bit of a no-win situation when it comes to couches and rugs. I bought a lovely warm beige cushion hand woven by Hmong women. I hope the women see some of the eye watering sum I paid for it.

Speaking of eye watering sums, John just came in with the mail which included a flyer from the realtor who sold our Berkeley home, detailing a house of similar size and vintage to ours . It's on the market for  $2,750,000. (2,242,153 pounds) We often have conversations about how we should have bought several houses back when we bought ours in 1967 for a song, but of course back in those days we could barely scrape together the money for the one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.