Hockney at the Fitzwilliam

We had an easy drive from Hackney to the Madingley Park and Ride, taking just over an hour. Obviously the parking was free, but so too was the bus with our Over 60s pass.

We wandered round Cambridge en route for the Fitzwilliam museum to use our pre-bought tickets for Hockney. It must be many years since we were last in Cambridge but it seemed much quieter.

I really enjoyed the exhibition. The museum is on a very grand building with a beautiful marble entrance. The exhibition was so well-curated. It was really interesting to see how artists from centuries ago had inspired him. There was information about how, even many centuries ago, artists played with perspective. The explanation of the techniques used, using computer graphics, was fascinating.

We then headed for Downing College where there were more Hockneys on view, some cut out photos and another of various seated figures looking at an art work, seen from many angles and almost mirror-like. The young person working in the room explained who the figures, including Ed Sheehan, were. She said Ed had been sitting for a portrait by Hockney and I remembered having seen it in Ipswich when I went to an exhibition about eEd himself. I might have blipped it. I remarked how the mirror effect was a coincidence as I’d seen the Kusama yesterday. She asked how I felt about the curation there and I was honest and said I’d been disappointed. She had been too for the same reasons and thought it had been over-hyped. Afterwards we sat in the garden admiring the Hepworth bronze.

Now we are boiling on our way up the A1 home. Tomorrow will be a busy day preparing for guests arriving on Friday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.