I remember riding in this car!

This car belonged to the husband of one of my godmothers when I was a child. His son sent me a link to the website where it is being sold for £150,000. It is a Healey Westland Roadster, one of only 70 built. When new it cost around £2.330. However It was an expensive car then as I have looked up the relative value in 2022 and it is £85,000. I’m sure my relations bought it secondhand in the late 1950s so it would have depreciated by then but still expensive. This one was registered first in 1948 and was raced at Castle Combe in Wiltshire. I vaguely remember sitting in the back behind the passenger seat…no seat belts or anything! His son had a model of the car too. I think they probably sold it because it was not suitable for a family car! I also remember they had an ex army WW2 Landrover as a farm runabout for many years which we found great fun to ride in the back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.